softgocast.blogg.se

Mac mini review for video editing
Mac mini review for video editing





mac mini review for video editing
  1. #MAC MINI REVIEW FOR VIDEO EDITING UPDATE#
  2. #MAC MINI REVIEW FOR VIDEO EDITING PRO#
  3. #MAC MINI REVIEW FOR VIDEO EDITING PC#
  4. #MAC MINI REVIEW FOR VIDEO EDITING BLUETOOTH#

The previous update to the Mac mini happened way back in 2018, and this year’s refresh doesn’t change anything in the way of that model’s GPU or port configurations. The £1,099 model, meanwhile, will give you 512GB of storage space. The lowest price Mac mini, which will set you back £799, will now come with 256GB of storage.

mac mini review for video editing

#MAC MINI REVIEW FOR VIDEO EDITING PC#

Perhaps the show will still go on for this little desktop monster.Alongside the reveal of the MacBook Air 2020, Apple today announced a refresh to its Mac mini desktop PC - doubling the storage of its base-level configuration. I’ve lived with the M1 Mac mini’s showstoppers for six months now I could live with them for another six. Maybe I should stop moaning.

mac mini review for video editing

It works relentlessly, outperforms its apparently meagre specs, and slots effortless onto every desk. The M1 Mac mini is like that little brother who irritates the hell out of you, but with whom you laugh the hardest and have the most fun while playing football in the garden. That might be the case, but because Apple is so infuriatingly tight-lipped about, well, everything, I think we’re well within our rights to assume that the M1 Mac mini should have more ports. Oh, and why can’t we have an SD card slot, Tim?Īlthough never officially confirmed, there’s a general consensus that the lack of ports on these M1 machines is related to some form of technical limitation within the chipset itself. And there are only two USB-A ports (this is actually a bigger gripe for me). Sure, unlike the M1 MacBooks, you can connect more than one monitor to it, but in doing so, you only leave yourself with one remaining USB-C port. There aren’t enough ports on the M1 Mac mini. Granted, this won’t be an issue for every owner, but it cannot be ignored. The other showstopper is the port situation.

#MAC MINI REVIEW FOR VIDEO EDITING BLUETOOTH#

Maintaining reliable Bluetooth connections is nigh-on impossible, and I’m convinced the presence of the Mac mini in my studio is still causing havoc with pretty much any Bluetooth device in the room. And it affects both third-party peripherals and even Apple’s own hardware. It’s a serious issue that affects a great many owners (the comments about it still flood in each day, and my analysis of the issue is one of the top-performing blogs on my website).Īpple has only referenced the issue in passing within release notes for various macOS updates, but they appear to be rather more interested in burying the headline as far as Bluetooth and the M1 Mac mini is concerned. But, after a while, I couldn’t look past it any longer. The first is the Bluetooth problem which, for a long time, I willfully ignored. There are two showstoppers with the M1 Mac mini. And I’ve still never heard the fan come on (even with it sandwiched between my desk, an AGPTEK hub and a monitor stand, as you can see in the photo above).

#MAC MINI REVIEW FOR VIDEO EDITING PRO#

Aforementioned Final Cut Pro glitches aside, I never thought I’d be able to run a YouTube channel that deals solely with 4K videos produced on a sub £1,500 Mac that only has 16GB of RAM.īut I can. Like so many Apple designs, it’s completely no-frills, non-fussy and beautifully simple.īut the power produced by that M1 chip. It also features a design that is timeless. It remains the most cost-effective way to ease yourself into the macOS ecosystem. Price and performance are the two factors at which the M1 Mac mini excels. It still delivers in terms of return on investment, big time. That’s no big deal, though – given how much I spent on the M1 Mac mini. The slightly degraded performance isn’t productivity-sapping, but it does occasionally drop the odd frame and place a cut in the wrong place, half a second later than intended. This has coincided with a change in my camera setup, where I’m now working with 10-bit 4:2:2 footage from the Sony FX3. The only thing I’ve noticed recently is a slightly glitchier performance in Final Cut Pro. It matches my since-departed 16” MacBook Pro, pound-for-pound, without the relentless heat or fan noise. It’s still coupled with my huge 34” ultra-widescreen monitor and it still performs brilliantly.Įvery video I’ve published since January has been edited, polished and published directly on that Mac mini. This has resulted in the repurposing of my M1 Mac mini from a do-it-all machine to a video and audio editing station. In its place on my main desk sits a 24” M1 iMac. Anyone who watches my YouTube channel will know that I’ve recently moved my M1 Mac mini to the rear of the studio.







Mac mini review for video editing